The Golden Boy award - best football player under 21 years

The Golden Boy award is an award given to the best player under 21 years old that plays in any of the European top tier leagues. The award was first handed out in 2003 and the very first winner of the award was the Dutch player Rafael van der Vaart.

The award did not get much attention from the beginning but over the years its popularity have grown and is now perhaps the most important award among the young football players.

Latest news and articles

Latest winner of the Golden Boy award - Jude Bellingham

Jude Bellingham

Jude Bellingham is the latest winner of the Golden Boy award 2023. The Englishman, playing for Real Marid, was awarded the price on the 5th of December 2023. He won the price with a bigger margin down to the second-best player than anyone done before.

Previous winners

Erling Braut Haaland
João Felix
Matthijs de Ligt
Kylian Mbappé

History of the Golden Boy award

The Golden Boy award was created by the Italian sports newspaper Tuttosport in 2003. Today there are several high profile football newspaper around Europe that has a saying about the award, you can read more about the award and its history here.